Workers’ compensation can help the injured workers meet their medical, vocational, and income replacement needs. In Virginia Beach, it is especially important because of the higher number of potential cases. As with most other states, Virginia Beach has laws regarding workers comp claims which make it easier to file a claim than in some other parts of the country.
However, you can hire a Virginia Beach workers comp attorney to make the process of claiming workers’ compensation benefits hassle-free and easy. An attorney can guide you about the process of filing for a workers comp claim and help you get your rightful benefits.
The following are 5 basic things that you need to know before filing a claim.
You must report your injuries
This is a basic requirement, and failure to report injuries to a supervisor will lead to your claim being rejected. In some cases, you will be deemed ineligible to receive compensation benefits if you have failed to report your injuries to your employer within 30 days.
You must file a claim
In Virginia Beach, there are strict deadlines on when you must file a claim for workers’ compensation benefits. In most cases, you must file a claim for your injuries within a year of the accident. However, it is always best to file your claim as soon as possible after the injury occurs. There is no benefit if you wait 2 or 3 months before filing a claim.
Workers’ comp coverage is no fault
Unlike in a personal injury case, the fault is not determined in a workers comp claim. So, you don’t have to prove that your employer was at fault. However, it is essential that you report your injuries to your employer as soon as possible to avoid rejection of your claim and loss of benefits.
A variety of benefits are available
There are numerous benefits in a workers comp claim. These include medical care, vocational rehabilitation, income replacement, and burial costs. You can get a Virginia Beach workers comp attorney to help you claim these benefits.
You can appeal an unfavorable decision
You may have an unfavorable decision in your claim and filing an appeal is important. However, you must file your appeal within 30 days, otherwise, it will be too late to appeal the unfavorable decision.