Business

What Is the Punishment for Drunk Driving in California?

The punishment for drunk driving in California can vary depending on the severity of the offense and the prior driving record of the offender. However, penalties can include jail time, fines, license suspension, and mandatory DUI classes. If someone is killed due to drunk driving, the penalties can be even more severe, including prison time.

You need to engage a drunk driving accident attorney who will fight for your rights. Qualified attorneys will understand the law and have a good track record when it comes to representing drunk driving cases.

Keep scrolling to have a detailed breakdown of the punishments:

1. First Offense DUI

If this is your first DUI offense, and your blood alcohol content (BAC) was below 0.08%, you may be facing the following penalties:

  • Up to 6 months in county jail
  • A fine between $390 and $1,000
  • License suspension for up to 4 months
  • To install an ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle

2. Second Offense DUI

If this is your second DUI offense and your BAC was below 0.08%, you may be facing the following penalties:

  • Up to 1 year in county jail or between 4 days and 1 year in a work-release program if approved by the court
  • A fine between $390 and $1,000
  • License suspension for up to 2 years
  • An IID in your vehicle as a condition of license reinstatement

3. Third Offense DUI

If this is your third DUI offense and your BAC was below 0.08%, you may be facing the following penalties:

  • 16 months to 3 years in state prison
  • A fine between $390 and $1,000
  • License suspension for up to 4 years
  • An IID is installed on all vehicles registered in your name as a condition of license reinstatement

4. Fourth Offense DUI or Greater

If this is your fourth DUI offense or you have been convicted of a DUI offense in the past 10 years, you may be facing the following penalties:

  • 2 to 4 years in state prison
  • A fine between $390 and $1,000
  • License suspension for up to 5 years
  • An IID is installed on all vehicles registered in your name as a condition of license reinstatement

5. DUI with Injury

If you cause injuries to another person while driving under the influence, you may be facing the following penalties:

  • Up to 1 year in county jail or between 4 days and 1 year in a work-release program if approved by the court
  • A fine between $390 and $5,000
  • License suspension for 1 to 3 years
  • Probation with mandatory DUI classes

6. DUI with Property Damage

If you cause property damage while driving under the influence, you may be facing the following penalties:

  • Up to 6 months in county jail or between 4 days and 1 year in a work-release program if approved by the court
  • A fine between $390 and $1,000
  • License suspension for 1 to 3 years
  • Probation with mandatory DUI classes

Wrapping Up

Remember, if you are facing DUI charges, it is vital to have a qualified attorney on your side who will ensure that your rights are protected. The punishment for drunk driving in California can be severe, but with the help of a good lawyer, you may be able to avoid some of the more serious penalties.

Alex

Alex is an SEO expert,writer and blogger with a strong passion for writing.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button